ACE Awards

The ACE Awards are designed to celebrate the successes and diversity of artistic and architectural projects in religious buildings throughout Britain. ACE also has a biennial award for a book which explores the dialogue between the visual arts and religion.

The next round of Awards for Art and Architcture will be in 2019. The Book Award will run May-November 2017.

All winning and shortlisted permanent works from the art award over the last 6 years are listed on our Ecclesiart pages.

The 2015 Awards were announced on 26 November at King's College Chapel, London.

For the ACE Award for art in a religious context: Maciej Urbanek, HS, St Michael's Camden

Also shortlisted:

David Behar Perahia, residency at Gloucester Cathedral
Antonia Hockton, The River of Life, St George's Church, Great Bromley
John Maddison, Reredos, Ely Cathedral
Nick Mynheer and Roger Wagner, window, aumbry and font cover at St Mary's Iffley
Bill Viola and Kira Pirov, Martyrs, St Paul's Cathedral

For the ACE/RIBA Award for religious architecture: jointly given to Tectus Architects, Kingston Quaker Centre and WHR Pattisson Chartered Architect, The Chapel at Shepherd's Law

Also shortlisted:

Niall McLaughlin Architects, Bishop Edward King Chapel, Ripon College Cuddesdon
Simpson & Brown, St Albert's Chapel, University of Edinburgh
Theis & Kahn, Wanstead URC
Walker Cunnington Architects, St Giles Church, Pontefract

The ACE/Mercers' International Book Award:
Spike Bucklow The Riddle of the Image, (Reaktion)

Also shortlisted:

Trinita Kennedy (ed) Sanctity Pictured, (Philip Wilson Publishers)
Aaron RosenArt + Religion in the 21st Century, (Thames & Hudson)

For a full press release please click here.

The 2015 judging panels were as follows:

The ACE Award for Art in a Religious Context
Kindly supported by the Martin McLaren Trust

Chair: The Right Reverend Nicholas Holtam, Bishop of Salisbury
Janet Gough, Director of the Cathedrals & Church Buildings Division of the CofE
Joe Hage, collector
Alexander Sturgis, Director of the Ashmolean Museum
Dr Jane Williams, Senior Tutor in Theology at St Mellitus College

The ACE/RIBA Award for Religious Architecture
Kindly supported by the Allchurches Trust

Chair: Matthew Rice, illustrator and author
Gillian Darley, writer, broadcaster and biographer
Tom Jarman, partner at Fielden Clegg Bradley Studios
The Right Reverend Stephen Platten, Rector of St Michael Cornhill and Assistant Bishop in the Diocese of London
Otto Saumarez Smith, architectural historian

The ACE/Mercers' International Book Award – for a book which makes an outstanding contribution to the dialogue between the visual arts and religion
Kindly supported by the Mercers' Company

Chair: Richard Cork, art critic
Monica Bohm-Duchen, Associate Lecturer in History of Art at Birkbeck University of London
David Jasper, Professor of Literature and Theology, University of Glasgow
Chloë Reddaway, Howard and Roberta Ahmanson Fellow in Art and Religion, National Gallery London
Tessa Murdoch, Deputy Keeper at the Victoria and Albert Museum, Department of Sculpture, Metalwork, Ceramics and Glass
Graham Howes (convenor)

International Awards

For projects in the US: The Annual Religious Art and Architecture Design Awards program is co-sponsored by Faith & Form Magazine and the Interfaith Forum on Religion, Art and Architecture (IFRAA), a knowledge community of the American Institute of Architects. The Awards program was founded in 1978 with the goal of honoring the best in architecture, liturgical design, and art for religious spaces. The program offers four primary categories for awards: Religious Architecture, Liturgical/Interior Design, Sacred Landscapes, and Religious Arts.

In Australia the Blake Prize explores the 'Religious and Spiritual in Art' on an annual basis. Go to